FOCUS: Gratitude

FOCUS:  Gratitude

“Everything has its wonders, even darkness and silence, and I learn whatever state I am in, therein to be content.” Helen Keller

I woke up this morning thankful for many Sabbath blessings: beauty, worship; special time with precious children at church: singing Acts 16:31 and sharing Bible stories. Then we shared a healthy meal with family, a beautiful walk in a garden setting and a soothing warm soak in a natural hot spring…yes I had plenty to be thankful for!

But there is always something to draw us near to God, to our knees for prayer and today was no different. My Mother-in-law, sweet Ila was admitted to the hospital this afternoon with pancreatitis; she is in good hands with the great Physician, stabilized with medical treatment, and very much loved and supported by her family and friends.

This powerful promise reminds that us that God understands: “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”  (Philippians 4:6)

I just came home from the hospital, so I’m write a new addition to this message from what I wrote earlier.  I was preparing to facilitate a group meeting this coming week. I chose the topic gratitude because I know it to be a true remedy to life’s woes. I read many different things about “gratitude.” I found it interesting that many of the stories about gratitude kept referring to problems but in the context of being grateful. Here are a few paraphrases from some of the quotes:

Even the darkest of moments can be faced with a grateful heart; not for the problems but for the growth it can evoke with the help of Jesus.

When things seem their bleakest, I can choose to seek the courage and strength and hope accessible in my Lord and Savior for the light of understanding and gratitude.

For “when it gets dark enough you can see the stars.”

Just for today, I will practice gratitude. I will choose to accept the gift of gratitude, receiving the things that come my way. Knowing I can trust my Heavenly Father, I will be content and let the peace of Christ keep me. I will cultivate thankfulness. I will be thankful for an attitude of gratitude.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol J. Smith
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 23:30:58

    You can be transformed by the renewing of your mind…put your hope in God. Keep trusting in the Almighty Creator who loves you and designed you for His unique purpose. Transform your focus from the darkness to the light by spending quality time with Father-God, immerse yourself in HIS WORD, enjoy true intimacy with HIS FAMILY. Love to all in Christ, Carol

    Reply

  2. Carol J. Smith
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:10:51

    This has been a great week of answered prayer…my heart is overflowing with gratitude! Thank you Jesus for family members healing, fulfillment of my desire to attend Beachside Writer’s Retreat, for new opportunities to coach, teach, speak and write. Thank you that I get to do what I love everyday in so many ways. Thank you for my loving and supportive husband Ron. Thank you for friends and family and strangers too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

